2023 Match Play Changes

2023 Match Play Changes

We are excited to announce new features of the SDGA Match Play Championship that will allow more players to participate through local qualifying and create more value for players who qualify for the Championship by guaranteeing all players get to play three matches. 

Here is a summary of the changes. 

* On site qualifying eliminated at the Championship

* Championship field filled with exemptions and local qualifiers
   Men – 64 Players  /  Senior Men – 32 Players  /  Women – 32 Players
   NEW!!! Senior Women – 16 Players

* Local Qualifying open to all players at 10 sites across the state from June 16 – July 1

* Local Qualifying entry fee is only $20 (plus applicable golf/cart fees) before May 1

* The number of qualifying spots for each division at each Local Qualifier will be based on the size and quality of the field at each site, and will be announced shortly after the close of entries on June 1. 

* At the Championship, the POD system (WGC Match Play) will be used

* At the Championship, all players are guaranteed to play three matches

* Winner of each POD advances to a single elimination match play bracket

* Local Qualifying registration opens February 15.  

Click on the links below for more details including the list of exempt players (not all exempt players will enter the event). Contact us with any questions at sdgainfo@sdga.org or text our TEXT ONLY LINE at 605-546-7775. 





SE Qualifier #1

Saturday, June 17

Fox Run GC, Yankton

SE Qualifier #2

Saturday, June 24

Central Valley GC, Hartford

SE Qualifier #3

Friday, June 30

Lakeview GC, Mitchell

SE Qualifier #2

Saturday, July 1

Elmwood GC, Sioux Falls

West Qualifier #1

Friday, June 16

Spearfish Canyon GC, Spearfish

West Qualifier #2

Saturday, June 24

Elks GC, Rapid City

West Qualifier #3

Sunday, July 2

Southern Hills GC, Hot Springs

NE Qualifier #1

Friday, June 16

Prairie Winds GC, Watertown

Central Qualifier

Saturday, June 24

Broadland Creek GC, Huron

NE Qualifier #2

Friday, June 30

Lee Park GC, Aberdeen