Skip to Main Content
Create Your Player Profile

Dean Zahn, head golf professional at Moccasin Creek Country Club in Aberdeen, and Roger Erickson, formerly of Rapid City, have been elected to the South Dakota Golf Association Hall of Fame. Induction ceremonies for both will be held later in 2018.


Zahn has been the head golf professional at Moccasin Creek CC since 1996. A Class A Member of the PGA of America since 1992, Zahn won the Minnesota PGA Section Youth Development Award in 2016 and the Steve Weidner Award in 2009, an honor recognizing individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the game of golf and their community. The Dakota Chapter of the Minnesota PGA Section named Zahn its Facility Promoter Leader of the Year in 2015, Junior Golf Leader in 2006, Golf Professional of the Year in 2002 and Education Leader of the Year in 1999 and 2000. Currently the President of the SDGA Junior Golf Foundation Board of Directors, Zahn, in 2006, was the first golf professional to become a voting member of the South Dakota Golf Association Board of Directors. Zahn competed in the Senior PGA Professional Championship in 2017 in Scottsdale, Ariz., and has finished twice in the top-10 of the Minnesota PGA Championship.


Erickson, who now resides in Gilbert, Ariz., was on the SDGA Board of Directors from 1997 to 2005, serving as the President in 2001. A proponent of junior golf, Erickson laid the foundation for the current SDGA Junior Tour and also scheduled and conducted junior golf clinics throughout the Black Hills area. He also was instrumental in creating the SDGA Senior Two-Man Championship. An accomplished player, Erickson was the SDGA Senior champion in 1995 and was runner-up in the event in 1999 and 2004. Twice he reached the round of 16 in the SDGA Match Play Championship and was the SDGA Senior Golfer of the Year in 1995, 1999 and 2004.


During its annual meeting, the Board of Directors approved the following changes to SDGA championships for 2018:

·Re-establishment of the Men’s Pre-Senior Championship for players ages 40 to 54. This event will be conducted at the same time and same venue as the Men’s Senior Championship on Aug. 25-26 at The Bluffs Golf Course in Vermillion.

·On a two-year trial basis, created flights for the Men’s Match Play Championship based on the 18-hole qualifying score. The low 64 scorers will be placed in the Championship Flight with all others being placed in flights of 16 or 32, based on the total number of entries. All matches will begin on Friday, eliminating first-round byes, and the championship match will be contested over 18 holes on Sunday afternoon, rather than a 36-hole finale on Monday. This year’s Match Play Championship is July 12-15 at the Golf Club at Red Rock in Rapid City.

·Removed the minimum age requirement for males and females to participate in championships (except for specified events, ie., Senior, Pre-Senior, Mid-Amateur) as long as each participant meets the requirement to have an active GHIN number and at least five scores posted in the previous 12 months.

·Discontinued the Mixed Team Championship.


Merv Bouchie of Mitchell was elected President of the Board of Directors and Kyle Repp of Yankton was elected Vice-President.


2018 SDGA Championship Schedule