SoDak Cup

The SoDak Cup is an annual event featuring the best SDGA Amateurs playing our South Dakota PGA Professionals in a Ryder Cup format. The 12 player Amateur team is made up of players who earn points with their performance in our Championships. The Professional team consists of PGA Professionals at the courses that host our events and support the SDGA. 

The 2023 SODAK CUP will be held October 6-8 at a site to be determined. 


The 2022 SoDak Cup was held on October 7-9 at Spearfish Canyon CC. In an exciting match, it came down to the final hole with two matches hanging in the balance. SDGA’s Amanda Schelske made a 12 foot sidehill birdie putt to seal at least a tie for the Amateur team. PGA Professional Levi Pearson then had to make a tough 6 foot downhill birdie putt to salvage a tie at 12-12. Because the SDGA Amateur team held the Cup from their victory in 2021, they retain the Cup until next year’s matches. 

SDGA 2022PGA 2022
Kayde Bartels, BrookingsLevi Pearson, Cattail Crossing GC
Nick Heig, Rapid CityErik Hansen, Willow Run GC
Shane Tipton, Rapid CityRob Kortan, Spearfish Canyon GC
Matt Johnson, GregorySteven Klock, Rocky Run GC
Ryan Trasamar, Sioux FallsDanny Sinksen, Elmwood GC
Sam Prue, N Sioux CityDustin Kreich, Central Valley GC
Jeff Meyerink, MitchellZac Gavlak, Brookings CC
Chris Long, PreshoJosh Baldus, Sanford Golf
Amanda Schelske, MitchellJR Hamblet, Elkhorn Ridge GC
Alexandra Mankle, Sioux FallsSam Vosler, Sanford Golf
Brodie Hullinger, BrookingsJason Young, GC at Red Rock
Russell Pick, MitchellJesse Hansen, Arrowhead


Here are the results of the matches since their inception in 1997.

2022Tie – Amateurs Retain12 – 12Spearfish Canyon GC
2021Amateurs14 – 10Hillcrest G & CC
2020Amateurs15.5 – 9.5The Prairie Club
2018Professionals11 – 5Lakeview GC
2017Tie – Professionals Retain10 – 10Brookings CC
2016Professionals11 – 9GC at Red Rock
2015Amateurs10.5 – 9.5Moccasin Creek CC
2014Amateurs11 – 9Hillsview GC
2013Amateurs15 – 5Arrowhead CC
2012Amateurs11.5 – 8.5Fox Run GC
2011Amateurs12.5 – 7.5Hillcrest G&CC
2010Professionals11.5 – 8.5Sutton Bay GC
2009Professionals12 – 8Prairie Green GC
2008Amateurs9.5 – 6.5GC at Red Rock
2007Amateurs9.5 – 6.5GC at Red Rock
2006Amateurs10.5 – 5.5Minnehaha CC
2005Amateurs10.5 – 5.5Broadland Creek GC
2004Tie – Amateurs Retain8 – 8Hillcrest G&CC
2003Amateurs8.5 – 7.5Dakota Dunes CC
2002Amateurs13 – 7Minnehaha CC
2001Amateurs8.5 – 7.5Meadowbrook GC
2000Amateurs8.5 – 7.5Moccasin Creek CC
1999Professionals12.5 – 3.5Arrowhead CC
1998Professionals10 – 6Hillcrest G&CC
1997Professionals9 – 7Westward Ho CC